My Three Favorite Language Learners Blogs

blogs

I do a lot of Internet surfing, searching for different resources about learning languages. One of my ideas for learning English is to read blogs in English about language learning. This is an idea of joining learning English via reading, and learning how to learn at the same time. I have visited hundreds of websites and today I want to write about my three favorite blogs.

There are special annual rankings of “language lovers” organized by http://www.lexiophiles.com and http://bab.la. One of the categories that they rank is “Top 25 Language Learning Blogs”. You can find the whole ranking of 2013 here: http://en.bab.la/news/top-25-language-learning-blogs-2013. All my favorite blogs proved to be among most popular on the web. The first of these blogs is named “Fluent in 3 Months” which came in second place, then there is “The Everyday Language Learner” which came in fourth place, and finally “The Polyglot Dream” which came in eighth place. Now, a few words about each of them.

“Fluent in 3 Months” is a blog run by Benny Lewis, the Irish polyglot who travels all over the world learning languages. The title “Fluent in 3 Months” is a challenge he sometimes tries to achieve. His last attempt to do so was learning Arabic while living in Brazil. His main tip for language learners is “Speak from Day One”. He sees the effectiveness of learning languages in speaking, so he is in opposition of many other polyglots who state that the most important method is “input”: reading and listening. By the way, Benny’s way is effective, he speaks seven languages.
Link to the blog: http://www.fluentin3months.com/

The second of my favorite blogs is “The Everyday Language Learner”. The author of this blog is Aaron Myer, an American learning coach. He is not as much of a polyglot as Benny, but he has a very systematic approach to language learning. He writes many different tips and ideas on how to learn. He is an advocate of the planning and good organization of a “journey”, which is what he calls learning languages. I like to watch the videos he uploads on YouTube because he speaks very clearly and uses language which is easy for me to understand.
Link to the blog: http://www.everydaylanguagelearner.com/

And finally “The Polyglot Dream”, a blog written by Luca Lampariello, an Italian polyglot. He speaks ten languages. He claims that languages cannot be taught, they can only be learned. The most important thing in learning languages is passion. I really like the quote cited by Luca: “Those who learn another language, acquire another soul”. On Luca’s blog you can find articles about techniques and philosophy of learning, some interviews, guest posts, articles about phonetics and Luca’s travels.
Link to the blog: http://www.thepolyglotdream.com/

17 comments
  1. Thanks! I really like how you explain what you like about each blogger’s style and method! Inspiring!

    • Lotokot said:

      Do you know these blogs? I encourage you not only follow them, but also to explore their resources and archives. There are many interesting articles about learning languages.

  2. Thank you for your comment on English Manual: Letter by Letter. You have some very interesting posts, especially about the difficulty rating of languages.

    • Lotokot said:

      Thanks for your comment, glad you enjoyed my posts!

  3. I love your blog; it’s plain and simple! Thank you for visiting my blog ,and wanted to return the favor.

    Cheers!

    • Thank you Vioramayobo!
      If you have any suggestions or creative criticism, please let me know.
      I’m just near the beginning.
      Merridy

    • Lotokot said:

      Thanks for your comment, glad you enjoyed my blog! I will be waiting for your next posts.

  4. lisam said:

    Great resources here. Thanks for liking my post on my blog today. Appreciate that! :)

    • Lotokot said:

      Thanks for your comment, glad you enjoyed the post!

  5. This is the first site I’ve read on this topic. What a great intro to the subject! Thanks for stopping by The Brass Rag. Come back and see us often. We look forward to your comments!

    • Lotokot said:

      Thanks for your comment, glad you enjoyed the post!

  6. It’s actually a great and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you shared this useful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  7. washi said:

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this wweb page on a regular basis, this site is
    in fact pleasant and thhe users are truly sharing fastidious thoughts.

  8. I don’t evwn understand how I stopped up here, but I
    believed thios put up was good. I do not understand who you might be buut certainly you’re going
    to a famous blogger in the event you are not already. Cheers!

  9. Edgar said:

    Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn.

    That is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return
    to read extra of your useful info. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

